Loving Pandora

Recently I’ve been spending a lot of time at the computer with my headphones in. I am overwhelmed with Pandora.com, the personal Internet radio station.

In the past I’ve used the website and it has been so so. Either their technology has gotten a lot better or I previously didn’t give them enough of a chance. I never thought that I could be so completely understood by a database located somewhere in Kansas, but it has happened.

If you don’t know about the site it is basically a radio station that learns the songs you like and then adjusts the play lists accordingly. You start by choosing a station named after a song or artist. Pandora plays similar songs based on a genome-type algorithm. As songs play you can give them a thumbs up or a thumbs down (which will skip the song). The more you listen the more the site learns about your taste.

Currently I’ve been listening for hours and have given a thumbs up to the last 15 songs in a row. Goddamn do I love Ace of Base.

This entry was posted in Music, Web. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

