Little Miss Sunshine – I mean Rainy Day

There really is nothing worse than when a company treats you like shit and then doesn’t care because they will make money anyway, with or without you.  This isn’t that bad of a situation, but I wanted to post and can’t think of too much.  Here is the letter I just wrote to Regal Cinema.

I was in an odd situation where I showed up to see Little Miss Sunshine at the wrong time.  The shows were at 12:45 and 4:10 and I was at there at 2:10.  I spoke with the girl at the ticket counter and she told me that there was no one at the 12:45 viewing so I asked if it was possible for the theater to start the movie for me at the present time 2:10.

I understand that this request is out of the ordinary, but this is an opportunity for your business.  Your management could have created an extremely happy customer evangelist by taking my money and flipping a switch or they could piss off a non-customer.

What did management do? 

First the girl lied to me and told me it would ruin the movie schedule.  When I pressed her about run time and available time she admitted that they could run the movie and still start the 4:10 show on time.

I asked her to call the manager and he just said no (not to me, just over the walkie talkie to her).  I am mad not only at the eventual outcome, but more at the way the situation was handled.

What am I going to do? 

First I’m going to buy a bootleg copy of the DVD from a street vendor.  Then I am going to burn copies and mail them to my friends.  I am also going to copy this letter and send it to as many people as I can at Fox.  If I make any friends there I will get them a copy of the DVD also. 

By the way, I heard the movie is good.  Is it?  

What would a good company done in this situation?  And if anyone wants a free bootleg just leave me a comment.

This entry was posted in Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Miss Sunshine – I mean Rainy Day

  1. loricat says:

    You’ve run up against people ‘just doing their job’ — without the imagination to just run with an opportunity.

    That said, I wonder what would have happened if positions were reversed? In my incarnation as an adult ESL teacher, if the students didn’t show up for a class it was annoying, but it was also a chance to relax, get some other stuff done. I used to really piss me off to have one student just suddenly show up, after I’d given myself permission to ‘stand down’, get off the teaching stage for that class.

  2. alice says:

    Hi, I’m trying to get a copy of Little Miss Sunshine to share with my students. Do you have a copy? If so, please email me at apocryphafaulkner@yahoo.com. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

